Invitation to a “Webinar on Innovation Pilots Focused on Migrant Financial Resilience,” 19 and 21 July

The United Nations Capital Development Fund (UNCDF) aims to contribute towards the financial resilience of migrants and their families by facilitating the design and development of migrant-centric, gender-responsive digital wage, insurance, and pension products that are scalable and commercially viable. As part of the initiative, UNCDF seeks to create a foundation for an inclusive and innovation-driven migrant financial resilience ecosystem, by partnering with value-chain stakeholders that share our commitment to improved financial resilience of migrants and their families. 

To be selected through a transparent process, these partners will be provided technical and financial support for piloting quick-win projects that can adequately demonstrate and catalyze accelerated adoption of inclusive insurance, pensions, wage digitization products and services. It is envisaged these projects will not only unlock opportunities that generate visible results on the ground, but also create learning externalities to facilitate replication and future up-scaling of innovative approaches for migrants.   

The scope of the intended partnerships will extend to sending countries: UAE and Malaysia; receiving countries: Bangladesh, Indonesia, Nepal, and Sri Lanka. 

During the webinar, UNCDF will share an overview of its work and future plans on the financial resilience of women and men on the move. Furthermore, the webinars will not only share how UNCDF’s support can be accessed by market players for undertaking innovation pilots in the focus countries, but also solicit feedback for ensuring the support is accurately focused on the key challenges confronting the migrant financial resilience value chain.

We will be hosting the webinar on the following dates to accommodate different time zones. Depending on your convenience, you may register for any of the two: 

Session 1: Tuesday, 19 July, 9:30 – 10.30 Gulf Central Time (Dubai time) 
(13:30 Kuala Lumpur, 12:30 Jakarta, 11:30 Dhaka, 11:15 Kathmandu, 11:00 Colombo).

Click here to register.  

 

Session 2: Thursday, 21 July, 12:00 – 13:00 Gulf Central Time (Dubai time) 
(16:00 Kuala Lumpur, 15:00 Jakarta, 14:00 Dhaka, 13:45 Kathmandu, 13:30 Colombo) 

Click here to register.  

How to join?  

Please use the above registration links to register for the sessions. After you register, you will receive an email confirmation and will be able to add the event to your calendars.

Agenda

Topic Moderator Duration 
Introduction to the session and the speakersFaezal Yunus 10 minutes 
Introduction to United Nations Capital Development Fund (UNCDF) Premasis Mukherjee 10 minutes 
UNCDF’s intervention on migrant financial resiliencePremasis Mukherjee15 minutes 
UNCDF’s Migration and Remittances technical assistanceAli Akram 15 minutes 
UNCDF’s support for innovation pilots focused on migrant financial resilienceAli Akram10 minutes

About the speakers



Premasis Mukherjee

Senior Financial Sector Specialist | Migration and Remittances, UNCDF


Premasis Mukherjee has close to 15 years of extensive experience in the financial services sector across Asia and Africa. He specializes in designing business models, and products and services that include innovative solutions across Digital Finance, including migrant remittances and remittance-linked financial services. An expert in business innovation and human-centric design, Premasis leads initiatives on migrant financial resilience at UNCDF.




Ali Akram
Senior Financial Sector Specialist | Migration and Remittances, UNCDF

Ali Akram is a digital finance expert with more than 20 years of experience in building inclusive economies and solving developmental challenges using innovative digital approaches. He has successfully led ground-breaking projects that leverage technology-driven solutions and channels for enhancing financial inclusion and resilience of migrants, refugees and other vulnerable segments. His work spans some of the most challenging humanitarian emergency and developmental contexts across Asia, the Pacific, and East and West Africa.

  • 00Days
  • 00Hours
  • 00Minutes
  • 00Seconds
Subscribe to our newsletter

*The Migration and Remittances programme uses the information you provide solely in order to send occasional updates, announcements and invitations related to our work. We will not sell, rent or otherwise share the information you provide, and you can unsubscribe at any time.